top of page
  • Alistair Tait

Seeking Acronym For Frittelli Farce

Updated: Apr 21, 2022


It took me a while to pluck up the courage to ask what the letters SMH stood for. My nephew was sending them so often in WhatsApp conversations about sports that I finally had to ask. Even if it meant my offspring STHs at me for being so out of touch. Yet again!


Younger readers will know SMH is the acronym for “shaking my head.”


That’s what I was doing, and no doubt many other golf fans, when I discovered the bizarre ruling that denied Dylan Frittelli an outstanding par during the RBC Heritage at Hilton Head.


Sometimes the rules of golf defy belief. This is one of those times. In fact, Frittelli’s ruling is arguably worthy of a more Anglo Saxon acronym, another three-letter short form that starts with “W” and ends with “F.”


Fritelli appeared to make a fantastic par save on the sixth hole during the final round of the RBC Heritage at Harbour Town. The South African pulled his tee shot and thought his ball came to rest in a waste bunker. It didn’t; it got hung up in Spanish moss dangling from a tree.


The former University of Texas player manufactured a swing to get the ball onto the fairway. He hit his next shot to 10 feet, and holed the putt to make a fabulous par. Imagine how he’d have dined out on that par save, and how bored his grandkids would have been whenever they heard Grandpa Dylan utters the words:

“Did I ever tell you how I saved par from a tree?”

Instead, Frittelli has a story to tell that once again shows just how farcical the Rules of Golf can be.


Unfortunately, when Frittelli stood to play his second shot, his feet were straddling the line of play. His stance violated Rule 10.1c, Making Stroke While Standing Across or on Line of Play,which reads:

“The player must not make a stroke from a stance with a foot deliberately placed on each side of, or with either foot deliberately touching, the line of play or an extension of that line behind the ball.”

Sure enough, once PGA Tour officials became aware of Frittelli’s actions, his brilliant par turned into a crushing double bogey.

To be fair, Frittelli he didn’t make a big fuss about the ruling as some players would’ve done.

A version of Rule 10.1c has been in the laws of the game since 1968. The R&A and USGA amended the rules to stop players emulating Sam Snead. He used a croquet-style putting stroke, with “The Slammer” standing astride his line. That action led to an insertion in the game’s codes that banned putting from “a stance astride, or with either foot touching” the line of the putt.


Fair enough, but was it meant for other shots? Maybe not, which seems to make a nonsense of the Frittelli ruling.


Technically the PGA Tour got it right, but was it in the spirit of the game? Surely one of the challenges of golf is to be creative, to imagine shots that give the best chance of making the lowest score possible? Frittelli showed great ingenuity in extracting himself from a bizarre situation to make an all-time par, but has been hammered for it.


What do you think? Is Frittelli’s ruling forgivable, or a bit of a farce that calls for a questioning three-letter acronym that begins with “S” or “W?”


#JustSaying: “Golf is a game of the people. It is played by the common man as a sport and a relaxation from the worries of life rather than used as an exhibition for onlookers, to which it is not suited.” Robert Harris, the 1925 Amateur champion and former long-time member of the R&A Rules of Golf Committee

Recent Posts

See All

Time For A Golf Shot Clock

Lexi Thompson and Hye-Jin Choi were reportedly fined $2,000 for impersonating snails in the KPMG Women’s PGA final round at Congressional Country Club. If ever there was another call to institute a sh

The Worst Ruling In Golf History?

Tiger Woods is naturally hogging all the headlines in this week’s Masters. It was the same nine years ago when arguably the worst ruling in golf history took place on the hallowed grounds of Augusta N

4 comentarios


Robopz
Robopz
23 abr 2022

There is a problem with a rule that penalizes Frittelli's shot. Crazy.


But IMO the proper response was to rule exactly as they did. I do not want officials put in the position of determining "fairness" or becoming the target of lobbying by players for waivers of rules for "equity" purposes. It's a Pandora's Box.


Bottom line: FIX THE RULE with a new codified interpretation to deal with this situation... but keep as much judgement out of it (and other rules) as possible.

Me gusta
ajt
23 abr 2022
Contestando a

Agreed. Hopefully the R&A & USGA tweak this law as a result...

Me gusta

Bill Elliott
Bill Elliott
18 abr 2022

The rule applied in this instance is beyond daft, just as the penalty laid on Keegan Bradley last month after he put his marker behind his ball and then the wind moved the ball and because he hadn't actually lifted the ball it wasn't 'officially' marked so he was done for not putting it from where it had moved to. Someone's god please give me strength. It's a game and it needs to be fair, not outrageously penalising. Rule 1 should be...use your flipping common sense. I'll go back to bed now...X

Me gusta
ajt
19 abr 2022
Contestando a

Common sense and the rules of golf? Don't be silly! They don't often go together. The daft thing is, if he'd moved either foot about two inches back or forward, he wouldn't have been done. Silly old game...

Me gusta
bottom of page